Kuwait 15-year residency for investors allows eligible foreign investors in companies licensed by the Kuwait Direct Investment Promotion Authority (KDIPA) to hold residency for up to 15 years. KDIPA announced the framework on 14 June 2026, and EY reports that it also covers senior executives of licensed companies. The conditions are significant, so this is a route for established investors rather than a general visa.
In this explainer
- What KDIPA announced
- Reported conditions
- Who is covered
- What is not yet clear
- How it compares in the Gulf
- Kuwait residency questions
What KDIPA announced
According to KDIPA, the Council of Ministers issued a resolution under Article 13 of Law No. 114 of 2024 on the Residency of Foreigners, covering foreign investors licensed under Law No. 116 of 2013 on the Promotion of Direct Investment. It allows eligible licensed investors to secure residency for up to 15 years. EY gives the resolution number as 651 of 2026, issued in coordination with the Ministry of Interior, while the KDIPA page’s own rendering of the number is unclear. Khaleej Times also reported the announcement as residency of up to 15 years for qualified foreign investors, immediate family, accredited senior executives and approved partners.
Reported conditions
KDIPA lists several conditions. The investment value must be no less than KWD 5 million, capital for approved investment activities no less than KWD 1 million, operations in Kuwait must be active, and the entity must meet a minimum employment requirement for Kuwaiti nationals. KDIPA does not give the required number of Kuwaiti employees, and its page does not describe application steps, documents or fees.
Who is covered
KDIPA names owners of licensed investment entities, partners, KDIPA-approved senior executives and eligible immediate family members, subject to prescribed conditions. It does not state how long executive or family permits last. EY says the residency is for investors and senior executives, and notes only that it covers granting and renewal across defined categories.
Consider a hypothetical case. Minh is a Vietnamese manufacturer who is weighing a KDIPA-licensed plant in Kuwait. Under the reported rules, his company would first need a KDIPA licence, meet the capital and investment thresholds, and show Kuwaiti employment. Only after that could he or approved executives seek the long-term residency. A residency-first plan would not work, because the permit is tied to the licensed company.
What is not yet clear
EY says an effective date is not stated on the page we read, and its full tax alert was not available to us. KDIPA does not set out fees, documents or timelines. Anyone planning around this should ask KDIPA and Kuwaiti immigration authorities for the current process rather than relying on summaries, including ours.
How it compares in the Gulf
Kuwait joins other Gulf states offering longer residency for investors and executives. Our guides cover Qatar’s 10-year residency for founders and executives and Dubai’s golden visa figures, and our note on Oman free-zone rules for foreign investors. Each programme has different thresholds and conditions, so compare them on the capital you can commit and the staff you plan to hire. If you are choosing a jurisdiction for a new company, our company formation page sets out options.
Kuwait residency questions
How long is Kuwait’s investor residency?
KDIPA says up to 15 years for eligible licensed investors.
When was it announced?
KDIPA announced the framework on 14 June 2026.
What are the investment thresholds?
KDIPA lists an investment value of no less than KWD 5 million and capital of no less than KWD 1 million for approved activities.
Are executives covered?
EY says senior executives in KDIPA-licensed companies are covered, and KDIPA names approved senior executives. Their permit length is not stated.
Do I need Kuwaiti employees?
KDIPA lists a minimum employment requirement for Kuwaiti nationals, but does not give the number.
What are the fees and steps?
They are not described on the KDIPA page we read. Ask KDIPA or the Ministry of Interior.
Sources
- KDIPA — Kuwait strengthens long-term residency. https://kdipa.gov.kw/kuwait-strengthens-long-term-residency
- EY — Kuwait announces long-term residency of up to 15 years for investors and senior executives. https://taxnews.ey.com/news/2026-1425-kuwait-announces-long-term-residency-of-up-to-15-years-for-investors-and-senior-executives-in-kdipa-licensed-companies
- Khaleej Times — Visa rule changes in 2026. https://www.khaleejtimes.com/world/visa-rule-changes-2026-uae-us-japan-uk-europe-schengen-asia

